Thursday, August 11, 2011

Forum on Franchising Solicits Nominations for Annual Awards

This posting was written by John W. Arden.

The ABA Forum on Franchising is seeking nominations for its four annual awards—the Lewis G. Rudnick Award, the Chair's Award for Substantial Written Work or Presentation, the Chair's Future Leader Award, and the Chair's Explorers Award.

The Lewis G. Rudnick Award is a lifetime achievement award, honoring those who have made “substantial contributions to the development of the Forum and to franchise law as a discipline—by publishing scholarly articles; writing or editing texts; speaking at franchise law meetings; serving the Forum as an officer, committee chair or member, or journal editor; and/or recognized accomplishments as a practicing franchise lawyer—while comporting themselves in accordance with Lew Rudnick's high standards of professionalism, decency and collegiality.”

Since its inception in 2009, the Rudnick Award has been presented to longtime franchise practitioners and Forum leaders John R.F. Baer of the Greensfelder firm in Chicago, Rupert Barkoff of Kilpatrick Stockton in Atlanta, and Andrew Selden of Briggs and Morgan in Minneapolis.

The Chair's Award for Substantial Written Work or Presentation will recognize a young and/or diverse lawyer who has published a scholarly article in ABA The Franchise Law Journal or The Franchise Lawyer newsletter, or prepared a paper and presented a workshop at a Forum annual meeting.

The Chair's Future Leader Award will be presented to a young and/or diverse Forum member who has demonstrated a substantial commitment to the Forum by undertaking significant leadership efforts, such as mentoring other Forum members or law students; working on membership marketing or other outreach efforts; assisting with special projects undertaken by the Forum Governing Committee or a Forum Division; or assisting with the Forum's annual meeting.

Last year, the Future Leader Awards were given to Dawn Newton of Fitzgerald Abbott & Beardsley LLP in Oakland, California and Jane Edmonds of Cassels Brock in Toronto.

The Chair's Explorers Award is designed for newcomers to the Forum who have demonstrated an interest in pursuing a career in franchise law. Any Forum member who is or has been a Governing Committee member or ad hoc member is ineligible to receive a Chair's Award.

Nominations for these awards should be sent by September 1 to Forum Chair-Elect, Joe Fittante at: Fittante and Ron Gardner will choose the recipients, subject to the approval of the Forum Governing Committee, and the awards will be presented during the 34th Annual Forum on Franchising, October 19-21, in Baltimore.

No comments: