Monday, March 02, 2009

Commissioner Leibowitz Named FTC Chairman

This posting was written by John W. Arden.

Confirming much speculation, President Barack Obama announced his intention to name Federal Trade Commissioner Jon Leibowitz as Chairman of the agency in a February 27 release.

Currently the only Democratic Commissioner of the FTC, Leibowitz has served as a member of the Commission since September 3, 2004. From 2000 to 2002, he was vice president for congressional affairs for the Motion Picture Association of America.

His prior government service has included working as the Democratic chief counsel and staff director for the U.S. Senate Antitrust Subcommittee from 1997 to 2000. He served as chief counsel and staff director for the Senate Subcommittee on Terrorism and Technology from 1995 to 1996 and the Senate Subcommittee on Juvenile Justice from 1991 to 1994. Previously, the Commissioner was chief counsel to Senator Herb Kohl (D-Wis.) and Senator Paul Simon (D-Ill.).

A Phi Beta Kappa graduate from the University of Wisconsin (1980), he attended the New York University School of Law, graduating in 1984.

"I am honored and grateful that President Obama has selected me to lead this remarkable agency,” Leibowitz said, in a statement released by the FTC on March 3. “I look forward to continuing our rich tradition of vigorous antitrust enforcement and consumer protection.”

Leibowitz succeeds William Kovacic, who became chairman in March 2008 when Chairman Deborah Platt Majoras resigned. According to published reports, Kovacic plans to stay on as a Commissioner.

Text of the President's February 27 announcement appears here on the White House website.

Text of the March 3 FTC statement appears here at the FTC website.

No comments: