Tuesday, April 06, 2010

Ramirez, Brill Sworn In as New Federal Trade Commissioners

This posting was written by Jeffrey May, Editor of CCH Trade Regulation Reporter.

Edith Ramirez and Julie Brill were sworn in as new Federal Trade Commissioners by FTC Chairman Jon Leibowitz on April 5 and 6, respectively. Ramirez filled an open position on the Commission, and Brill now occupies the vacancy created by the departure of Pamela Jones Harbour. Harbour, whose term ended last September, resigned effective April 6.

Prior to joining the FTC, Ramirez was a partner at Quinn Emanuel Urquhart & Sullivan, LLP in Los Angeles. Before joining Quinn Emanuel, she was an associate at Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher, LLP, in Los Angeles and clerked for the Hon. Alfred T. Goodwin in the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit. Ramirez’s term will expire on September 25, 2015.

Brill comes to the FTC from the North Carolina Department of Justice, where she served as Senior Deputy Attorney General and Chief of Consumer Protection and Antitrust. Prior to her move to the North Carolina Department of Justice, Brill was an Assistant Attorney General for Consumer Protection and Antitrust for the State of Vermont for over 20 years. Brill’s term will expire on September 25, 2016.

Further information about the swearing in of Commissioner Ramirez appears here on the FTC website. Further information on the swearing in of Commissioner Brill appears here.

A statement from Commissioner Harbour on her resignation appears here.

No comments: